Sarawakians unhappy over lack of federal cabinet appointments — PBK

Voon Lee Shan

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, March 16: Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK) has claimed that Sarawakians are unhappy over the lack of Sarawak full ministers in the Perikatan Nasional plus Gabungan Parti Sarawak (PN+GPS) government.

Party president Voon Lee Shan alleged that many Dayak and Chinese communities have voiced their grievance over the lack of representation in Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin’s cabinet line-up.

He said many were of the view that Dayaks being made deputy ministers would only become mere passengers in the federal cabinet. He added that many have questioned how Saratok MP Ali Biju, being a deputy minister, could play a major role in the federal cabinet.

“The Chinese community is also not happy because none of the Chinese lawmakers from Sarawak are appointed a minister and if a minister can be appointed through the backdoor by having them becoming senators of the Senate in Parliament, there is no reason at all that there is no representation from the Chinese community from Sarawak in the federal cabinet,” he said in a statement.

The Dayak community has one full minister and four deputy ministers in the federal cabinet. Kapit MP Datuk Alexander Nanta Linggi was appointed Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs, while Lawas MP Henry Sum Agong, a Lun Bawang, was appointed deputy minister.

Kanowit MP Datuk Aaron Ago Dagang was appointed deputy minister for Health, while Ali was appointed deputy minister for Energy and Natural Resources. Puncak Borneo MP Willie Mongin was appointed deputy minister for Primary Industries and Commodities.

There are 11 MPs from Sarawak appointed to the federal cabinet under Muhyiddin’s leadership but Bintulu MP Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing declined his deputy minister’s appointment for national unity.

Voon also described GPS government as very unstable in their stand in the formation of the Perikatan government.

“Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg announced the federal government as Perikatan Nasional-GPS federal government.

“Contrary to what we know, Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin never named the present government as Perikatan Nasional-GPS federal government.

“If this is the name of the present federal government, it is definite that this government is not sensitive to the feelings of the people of Sabah. What we know is that this name was announced by the chief minister, Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Openg,” he opined. — DayakDaily