Sarawak’s southern zone to move into Phase 3 of NRP on Oct 1

Covid-19 (file photo).

KUCHING, Sept 27: The southern zone of Sarawak which consist of Kuching, Bau, Lundu, Samarahan, Simunjan, Asajaya, Serian and Tebedu will move into Phase Three of National Recovery Plan (NRP) on Oct 1.

This was disclosed by Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in a statement today.

SDMC said the decision was made following the risk assessment by State Health Department and the National Security Council (MKN) on the three indicators for southern zone.

With Sarawak’s southern zone transitioned into Phase 3 of NRP on Oct 1, the whole of Sarawak will be in Phase 3 of NRP from next month onwards.

In Phase Three, all private sectors are allowed to operate with full capacity.

Some of the activities allowed are social gatherings such as organising of wedding, engagement, tahlil and food reception.

For sports enthusiasts, individual and team sporting events for training and tournament purposes will be allowed subject to guidelines from the Youth and Sports Ministry.

Earlier on August 2, the federal government announced that Sarawak will move into Phase 3 of NRP on August 4. However, the next day, SDMC announced that the southern zone of Sarawak remained in Phase Two of NRP as the daily Covid-19 cases were high. — DayakDaily