Sarawak only prohibits China students from Hubei province from re-entering state

Travel and passport - file pic. // Photo: Pixabay

KUCHING, Feb 1: Only students from Hubei province, China, are not allowed to re-enter Sarawak until further notice, said the State Disaster Management Committee secretariat.

The decision was made in line with the federal government’s entry ban announced by Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad with regards to China students in light of the novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV) outbreak.

“For student that are from others district in China, they are still allowed to gain entry into Sarawak, but must undergo self-quarantine for 14 days in their respective homes,” it said in a statement.

The committee is also working with other authorities on ways to expedite the “testing cycle time” process of the virus. Among the actions taken were setting up direct departure access for sample delivery to Kuala Lumpur without the need of passing through the Customs Department.

“The state government together with the state Health Department and Unimas (Universiti Malaysia Sarawak) will be getting a new equipment to enable the 2019-nCoV sample test to be conducted in Kuching.

“With the said approach, the department hope that it can expedite the overall process and at the same time, reducing worries and uneasiness among the public,” the secretariat continued.

The committee has also set up a public service line to help the public in conveying more information regarding the virus outbreak management throughout Sarawak.

The line, Crisis Preparedness Response Centre (CPRC) can be reached at 082-443248, from 7am to 5pm daily, as well as its 24-hour line at Bilik Gerakan Negeri, Wisma Bapa Malaysia, at 082-443991. — DayakDaily