Sarawak Energy Cup badminton tourney calling for entries

KUCHING, August 9: Entries are now open for the 3rd Sarawak Energy Cup badminton tournament, with lucrative prizes totalling over RM20,000 awaiting the winners.

It is open to all Sarawakians, permanent residents and those holding work or study permits in the state. Non-residents of Sarawak can vie for honours in the special Men’s Doubles (Invitation Category).

The tournament will be held at the Sentosa Sports Centre here from Sept 13-17. It is broadly divided into team and individual events. Under the team events are: Veteran Men’s Doubles, Men’s Doubles, Men’s Doubles (Invitation Category) and Novice Men’s Doubles. Under the individual events are: Men’s Doubles and Women’s Doubles.

“The state-owned energy development company and power utility is hoping that the annual tournament, held for the first time in 2016, will foster closer rapport with potential business partners while promoting a healthy and active lifestyle,” Sarawak Energy said in a statement.

The individual events feature a single knock-out system, while the team events will be played on a group league system in the first round and a single knock-out system thereafter. Each player is permitted to participate in one tie per match, and matches will be played on a 21-point 3 game system.

The main prizes for the team events are Sarawak Energy Cup, cash and medals. Then there is the Sarawak Energy Shield and Sarawak Energy Plate.

The winning team of the Sarawak Energy Cup will take home RM8,000, a trophy and medals. The first runner-up will receive RM4,000 and medals; semi finalists will receive RM2,000 each.

The Sarawak Energy Shield team champions will win RM2,000, while the first runners-up and semi-finalists will get RM1,000 and RM500, respectively. The winning team of the Sarawak Energy Plate will bag RM500, while the first runners-up will receive RM300.

The winners of the Men’s Doubles and Women’s Doubles under the individual events will receive RM500. The first and second runners-up will go home with RM300 and RM150, respectively.

There is a non-refundable registration fee of RM300 for team events and RM50 per entry for the individual events. Payment can either be in cash or crossed cheque made payable to Syarikat Sesco Berhad. It should be submitted along with the registration form signed by the appointed team manager. Intending participants must also submit copies of their identity cards or permanent resident’s certificates or study/work permits for the committee’s verification purposes.

The closing date for registration is noon on Sept 5. The draw for the teams’ placement will be conducted at 11am the following day at Menara Sarawak Energy.

More information on the tournament and registration forms can be obtained from or Sarawak Energy’s official facebook account or by getting in touch with Sarawak Energy Cup 2018 committee member Stephen Yee (019-8880341) or Kelvin Jee (012-8787533). — DayakDaily