Premier: Several PBB MPs to step down, give way to younger candidates in GE15

Abang Johari flanked by PBB deputy president Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas and permanent chairman Tan Sri Datuk Amar Mohamad Asfia Awang Nassar (right) during the PBB Supreme Council meeting at PBB headquarters in Kuching today (Aug 6, 2022).

By Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, Aug 6: Several MPs from Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) have expressed their intention not to defend their seats in the 15th General Election (GE15) to give way for younger candidates.

Sarawak Premier Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg, who is the party president, said this during a press conference after chairing a PBB Supreme Council meeting at PBB headquarters today.


“Several MPs have expressed (intention) that they want to give way to younger candidates. But I don’t have to disclose (the MPs) now.

“I wish to thank them because, in PBB, we have a culture where the seniors will call it a day and give way for the youth,” he told the press.

Abang Johari further said that PBB would set up a committee led by deputy president Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas and several other leaders to oil the party’s machinery for GE15.

He also mentioned that the coming GE15 would be a first for Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) as it is on its own and not like before — as a component party under the Barisan Nasional (BN).

“GPS will sweep clean all 31 seats if all goes well, based on our last performance. Especially when GPS is now looking after Sarawak’s interests,” he added.

GPS is a Sarawak-based coalition comprised of PBB, Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS), Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP), and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP).

GPS presently holds 18 parliamentary seats, where PBB owns 13 of them, PRS with two seats, PDP with two seats, and SUPP with one seat.

The 13 MPs from PBB are Dato Sri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar (Santubong), Dato Sri Fadillah Yusof (Petra Jaya), Rubiah Wang (Kota Samarahan), Dato Sri Nancy Shukri (Batang Sadong), Dato Sri Rohani Abdul Karim (Batang Lupar), Robert Lawson Chuat (Betong), Yusuf Abdul Wahab (Tanjung Manis), Dato Hanifah Hajar Taib (Mukah), Ahmad Johnie Zawawi (Igan), Dato Sri Alexander Nanta Linggi (Kapit), Lukanisman Awang Sauni (Sibuti), Datuk Hasbi Habibollah (Limbang), and Dato Henry Sum Agong (Lawas). — DayakDaily