New Covid-19 cluster at Jln Muhibbah in Betong declared, Bah Sayap cluster ends

New cluster Jalan Muhibbah Betong cluster declared today

By Adrian Lim

KUCHING, Feb 23: The State Health Department has identified a new cluster of Covid-19 today known as the Jalan Muhibbah Cluster in Betong.

At the same time, the Bah Sayap Cluster in Miri has ended today following zero cases of Covid-19 in the past 28 days.

According to the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in a press statement, the new cluster is a community cluster which occurred at a residence at Jalan Muhibbah in Betong town following a social gathering on Feb 10.

It disclosed that the index case of the cluster is case 7,407 which involved a 50 year old man who was identified following a symptomatic screening on Feb 16.

The committee said the patient exhibited symptoms of Covid-19 on Feb 14.

Following active contact tracing to the index case, another 17 positive cases of Covid-19 were identified.

SDMC said a total of 110 individuals linked to the index case have been swabbed for Covid-19 with 18 cases tested positive, 45 individuals tested negative and the remaining 47 individuals are awaiting their results for their Covid-19 swab test.

In the meantime, the committee said there are a total of 25 clusters of Covid-19 which is still active in Sarawak.

They are Jalan Muhibbah (Betong), Emperoh Jambu (Kuching), Sungai Bakong (Meradong), Jalan Green (Kuching), Kejatau (Sri Aman), Jan Yong (Kapit), Geronggang (Sibu), Mas Merah (Sibu), Univista (Samarahan), Kampung Sungai Maong (Kuching), Gelong (Kapit), Kidurong Dua (Bintulu), Nanga Lijan (Julau), Seruas (Beluru), Sebangkoi (Sri Aman), Jun Heng (Bintulu), Bintang Daily (Meradong), Jalan Pengiran (Matu), Tabong (Bau), Indah Riang (Kuching), Bedayan (Serian), Rakut (Miri), Bukit Sekubong (Sebauh), Jelita (Miri) and Pasai (Sibu).

Out of the 25 active clusters, 10 active clusters reported new cases.

They are Sungai Bakong Cluster in Meradong which reported 35 new cases, Jalan Muhibbah (17), Emperoh Jambu (10), Nanga Lijan (6), Univista (4), Rakut (2), Pasai (2), Kampung Sungai Maong (1), Kidurong Dua (1) and Seruas (1).

Other active clusters did not report new cases. — DayakDaily