Jazper crowned first champion of TVSTARZ

Jazper emerges the first winner of TVSTARZ, an all-Asean online singing competition produced by Sarawak's very own local TV station TVS.

KUCHING, June 16: Jazper Nimoi from Kuching was crowned the first champion of TVSTARZ at the virtual event’s final last night.

According to a media release, the five finalists of the Dream Team celebrated their success and memorable journey after 13 weeks of intense and exciting competition that has finally come to an end.

Ranked second for weeks in a row, Jazper stole the spotlight with the song ‘I Have Nothing by Whitney Houston’. He bagged RM30,000 along with a TVSTARZ trophy.

The 31-year-old was previously known as the ‘second place king’ but he had proven himself a champion material with his stunning performance at the final.

“Today you have sung very well. In this competition, among all the songs you had sung, this is the best from you, Jazper,” praised TVSTARZ jury Yudhi Seriestha.

Wonderstruck by the victory, Jazper said: “I didn’t expect this to happen. Competing against Fanzi, I really didn’t expect this.”

Jazper had won amazing awards in the past, including in DAMA 2013 as the champion and in DiGi Celebriteen 2006 and 2007 as the first runner-up on the stage of TV3. He had also won a studio recording session with Malaysia’s famous composer Audrey Suwito.

Meanwhile, Fanzi who came second place with his performance on ‘Bukan Dia Tapi Aku by Judika’ won RM15,000.

It was a shocking change in the results as Fanzi settled in the top three even though he had only recently joined the Dream Team.

In third place was Andrey who won the prize of RM10,000 with his song ‘All of Me by John Legend’.

TVSTARZ is TVS’ first-ever reality talent show to put the spotlight on talented individuals in three categories of singing, hosting and acting.

The all-Asean online singing competition had representatives from Malaysia, Indonesia and the Philippines.

TVSTARZ has attracted over 645 applicants and six contestants have been selected for the singing category. The six talented individuals were unveiled during the show’s debut on March 16. — DayakDaily