Jalan Kidurong Empat Cluster in Bintulu declared following 18 Covid-19 infections

KUCHING, June 17: Covid-19 infections have spread among residents in a settlement under lockdown located in Setinggan Sebatang Kepala in Jalan Kidurong Empat, Bintulu with 18 people tested positive so far.

As such, the Jalan Kidurong Empat Cluster was declared in Bintulu today. This is one out of six new Covid-19 clusters identified in Sarawak.

State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its daily updates on Covid-19 situation in Sarawak, reported that the community cluster stemmed from social movement and close contact among the local residents.

As of today, a total of 43 individuals have been screened whereby 25 tested positive while no results were pending.

All positive cases have been admitted to Bintulu Hospital and Quarantine and Low-Risk Treatment Centre (PKRC) Bintulu for isolation and treatment.

Meanwhile, there were three clusters identified in Kuching today dubbed Jalan Stampin Cluster and Iris Garden Cluster which were linked to elderly care centres with 18 cases and 8 cases respectively, as well as Jalan Keruing Cluster involving a business premises with 11 cases.

The remaining two clusters involved Sawai Niah Cluster which is linked to an oil palm factory under EMCO with 32 cases in Subis and Jalan Kidurong Empat Cluster which linked to a settlement under EMCO with 18 cases in Bintulu.

Meanwhile, the State Health Department has also declared the end of two clusters namely Bungey Cluster in Betong and Jalan Sawit Cluster in Sarikei after no new cases were reported in the past 28 days.

With that, the number of active clusters in Sarawak now stands at 92, out of which 13 clusters record an increase in daily infections with 73 cases in total.

The existing clusters are Bali Pie Cluster in Subis which registered 24 more cases, Kampung Sebandi Hilir Cluster in Lundu (11 cases), Jalan Masket Cluster in Sebauh (10 cases), Banting Cluster in Sri Aman (7 cases), Jalan Semarakan Cluster in Tatau (5 cases), Semanok Cluster in Tatau (4 cases), Jalan Tanjung Kidurong 3 Cluster in Bintulu and Sungai Kakus Cluster in Tatau (3 cases each), Gerigat Cluster in Kabong (2 cases), while Dulang Cluster in Subis, Gran Stumbin Cluster in Sri Aman, Pekan Tatau Baru Cluster in Tatau and Muara Tabuan Cluster in Kuching added one more case each.— DayakDaily