Interstate and intervene travels remain prohibited from May 18 to June 7

Inter-state and inter-district travels. (File Photo)

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, May 17: All interstate and interzone travels remain prohibited except with police permits during the extended period of Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) in the whole of Sarawak from May 18 until June 7.

As for interzone travels, only essential services and related vehicles in the industrial, business and manufacturing industries with valid police permits are allowed.

In the list of updated standard operating procedure (SOP) released today, State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) said those who wish to travel out of Sarawak would need to apply for permits from the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM) beforehand.

For those entering Sarawak, they are required to get approvals from SDMC through the ‘Enter Sarawak’ application and have the Health Declaration Form filled in before their travels.

According to the updated SOP, the number of passengers in a private vehicle is limited to the capacity of the vehicle except for Bintulu Division where only two persons are allowed in a vehicle.

The number of passengers allowed in vehicles carrying essential goods or commercial vehicles related to economic and industrial activities depend on the vehicle trade licenses.

Movements of private, government departments’ or private companies’ vehicles to and from the workplace or those conducting official government business is dependent on the seat capacity of the vehicle.

Meanwhile, all transportation activities and services in airports, ports are allowed to operate with specified SOPs including public transportation services such as stop-and-go buses, express buses, ferries, planes and taxies.

To curb the spread of the pandemic, Covid-19 high-risk individuals and their children are discouraged to be out in public or crowded places.— DayakDaily