GPS to contest all 31 seats in GE15, no room for Bersatu

Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg (file pic)

By Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, May 15: Premier of Sarawak, Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg, has made clear of Gabungan Parti Sarawak’s (GPS) stand to contest in all 31 parliamentary seats for the upcoming 15th General Election (GE15), which purportedly means it will not give way for Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) candidates.

The GPS chairman took note on a recent news report of Bersatu president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin urging him to consider allowing Bersatu Sarawak candidates to be fielded in Sarawak’s parliamentary seats in GE15.

When asked by the reporters to comment on the matter, he does not seem fazed about it.

“Oh that one… we cross the bridge-lah (sic). But GPS will definitely field our candidates in all 31 (seats),” he said after chairing a GPS pre-council meeting for the upcoming Sarawak State Legislative Assembly (DUN) sitting at Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) Headquarters in Kuching today.

Sarawak has 31 parliamentary seats, of which two were held by Bersatu Sarawak MPs namely Datuk Ali Biju (Saratok) and Datuk Willie Mongin (Puncak Borneo). — DayakDaily