GPS’ Aidel Lariwoo clinches Sadong Jaya with handsome majority

Aidel Lariwoo

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Karen Bong

KUCHING, Dec 18: Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) secured the N24 Sadong Jaya seat through Aidel Lariwoo with a handsome majority of 3,877 votes in a four-cornered tussle.

Election Commission’s (EC) official results showed that Aidel obtained 4,333 votes and thus will continue to serve a third-term as assemblyman.

All three other contenders lost their deposits. Parti Sarawak Bersatu’s (PSB) Nur Khairunisa Abdullah only managed 456 votes, followed by Parti Keadilan Rakyat’s (PKR) Cikgu Piee (319 votes) while Parti Bumi Kenyalang’s (PBK) Jolhi Bee came last with 115 votes.

The Sadong Jaya constituency which has 7,653 registered voters, recorded a 68.25 per cent or 5,223-voter turnout. — DayakDaily