Newcomer Mohamad wins Kalaka for GPS with 2,868 majority

Mohamad Duri (File Photo).

KUCHING, Dec 18: Gabungan Parti Sarawak’s (GPS) candidate for N38 Kalaka seat Mohamad Duri has won the seat with a majority of 2,868 votes.

According to the Election Commission’s (EC) official results, Mohamad who was contesting for the first time in the 12th Sarawak Election garnered 3,893 votes.

He defeated John Antau Linggang from Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB) who received 1,025 votes, and Linang Chapum from Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK) who secured 457 votes.

There were a total of 8,052 registered voters in the Kalaka constituency.

In the last Sarawak Election in 2016, Datuk Abdul Wahab Aziz who was a six-term assemblyman for Kalaka won the seat with a majority of 2,835 votes.

Abdul Wahab who polled 3,988 votes defeated Jemat Panjang from Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) who secured 1,153 votes. — DayakDaily