Extended families under Darul Hana relocation project to be offered houses at Sg Bedaun, says Premier

Abang Johari (centre) and wife (first left) arriving at the gathering accompanied by Abdul Rahman (second right).

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, May 6: Extended families of those relocating from the Seberang Hilir villages to the Darul Hana housing area will also be provided houses at the Sungai Bedaun area near the Santubong River.

Premier of Sarawak Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg said the extended families are also among the Sarawak government’s consideration, other than the core families that are originally staying at Seberang Hilir.

“We already have a procedure to move the community there (at Seberang Hilir) to a better housing area.

“I’ve instructed the Land and Survey Department together with community leaders to continue their effort to relocate the people,” he told the press when approached at the N4 Pantai Damai Aidilfitri gathering held at a local hotel here today.

Meanwhile, Deputy Minister of Utilities and Telecommunications Datuk Dr Abdul Rahman Junaidi said over 500 households at Kampung Panglima Seman Ulu, Kampung Semarang, and some additional lots at Jalan Sultan Tengah would be the first batch to move into their new houses.

He said the first phase of the relocation involving these villagers is expected to start Aug 1, should there be no issues with the ongoing land inquiry processes by the Land and Survey Department.

“Other villages such as Kampung Pulo Ulu, Kampung Pulo Hilir will undergo the same process after the second and third phases of the Darul Hana houses are completed.

“This stage is expected to happen in 2023 and 2024. So, the relocation will be an ongoing process and by 2030, all 13 villages at Seberang Hilir would have been relocated to Darul Hana,” he said.

The Pantai Damai assemblyman said in total, the relocation project involves 2, 640 households. Some of the other villages include Kampung Boyan, Kampung Gersik, Kampung Sourabaya Ulu, Kampung Sourabaya Hilir, Kampung Bintawa Ulu, Kampung Bintawa Hilir, Kampung Bintawa Tengah, Kampung Bintawa Batu, and Kampung Panglima Seman Hilir. — DayakDaily