Doris renews resolve to bridge govt and people with reappointment as pol sec

Doris receiving her appointment letter from Abang Johari. Photo credit: JAPEN Sarawak

KUCHING, Feb 18: Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) Women chief Dato Sri Doris Sophia Brodie has described her reappointment as political secretary to the Chief Minister as a recommitment to bridge the Sarawak government and the people.

Doris was among 11 out of 16 members of the Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) component parties who were sworn in as political secretary to the Chief Minister before Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg at Wisma Bapa Malaysia today.

“I regard this post as the mouthpiece, eyes and ears of the Chief Minister to ensure and determine the effectiveness of the government policies, initiatives and inclusiveness while continuously monitoring and feeling the pulse of the masses.

“In view of Sarawak’s geographical size, it is prime for policies and initiatives of the Sarawak government to be spread and disseminated to the masses,” she told DayakDaily through a message when contacted today.

Doris pledged to fulfill her duties and responsibilities entrusted to and expected of her to the best of her abilities.

She also conveyed her gratitude and thanks to PRS leaders for the recommendation and especially Abang Johari for his continuous trust in her for the reappointment.

Meanwhile, a total of 16 political secretaries to the Chief Minister took their oath of office today with nine from Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), three from Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP), three from PRS and one from Progressive Democratic Party (PDP).

Apart from Doris, PRS youth member Charles Chad Nissom was also reappointed while Susan Clement Ingun was newly appointed to the post.
The other four new faces were Tupong assemblyman Fazzruddin Abdul Rahman and Damen Rejek from PBB, Cr Niponi Undek (SUPP) and Datuk Nelson Balang Rining (PDP).

Others reappointed from PBB were Kenil Jaraiie, Victor Temenggong Angang, Romeo Christopher Tegong, Abdul Samat Kethergany, Jenny Bangga, Fridah Osman and Dr Dayang Nurfizawati Abang Abdul Karim, while from SUPP were Tan Kai and Teng Ung Woo.

The appointment of the political secretaries is for a term of two years and takes effect from Feb 15. — DayakDaily