DAP, PKR to avoid tuft war in PRN12

Chong, Sng and Abdul Halil (seated from left to right) signing the agreement on seat allocations between three parties in upcoming PRN12.

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, Jan 2: A ceasefire takes immediate effect between Sarawak Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) and Democratic Action Party (DAP) as both parties decide not to go against each other on six Sarawak seats like in the 11th State Election (PRN11) in 2016.

The six hot seats that called for multi-corner fights especially between DAP, PKR and previous Barisan Nasional (BN) four years ago were Simanggang, Mambong, Ngemah, Murum, Mulu, Batu Kitang.

At the end of the day, BN bagged all six of the state constituencies.

Simanggang is now represented by Datuk Francis Harden Hollis (GPS-SUPP), Mambong by Datuk Dr Jerip Susil (GPS-PBB), Ngemah by Alexander Vincent (GPS-PRS), Murum by Kennedy Chukpai Ugon (GPS-PRS), Mulu by Datuk Gerawat Gala (GPS) and Batu Kitang by Lo Khere Chiang (GPS-SUPP).

Today, DAP and PKR are determined to turn the table around in the upcoming 12th State Election (PR12) by sharing the six seats fairly.

DAP candidates will be contesting in Batu Kitang, Simanggang and Mambong while PKR candidates will be fighting for the seats in Ngemah, Murum and Mulu.

This was a consensus reached by both parties along with Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) Sarawak when the three opposition parties signed an agreement at Sarawak DAP headquarters earlier today.

Noting that the events in PRN11 were already history, Sarawak DAP chairman Chong Chieng Jen said it is clear and transparent now on the distribution of seats.

“There will not be any three-corner fight between us (opposition) who are standing in any particular seats.

“The objective is that with this close cooperation, we want to increase the chances of winning,” he asserted during a press conference today.

In the agreement, PKR will be contesting in 47 seats, DAP in 26 seats and Amanah in the other nine.

While the names of candidates are yet to be revealed, Chong, PKR Sarawak chairman Larry Sng and Amanah Sarawak chairman Abg Abdul Halil Abg Naili showed great confidence in this alliance to change the government this year.—DayakDaily