Covid-19: Situation worsens in Kapit, Bau and Lundu, while Beluru improves to yellow

Infographic showing Covid-19 statistics for Sarawak as at February 1, 2020. Credit: Sarawak Disaster Information

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Adrian Lim

KUCHING, Feb 1: Kapit district was declared a Covid-19 red zone after a total of 41 Covid-19 cases were recorded there over the past fortnight.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) disclosed this in a press statement today.

There were also 11 new Covid-19 cases reported in Kapit today with eight cases linked to the Pasai Cluster.

The situation in Bau and Lundu has also worsened with the former reporting 22 cases in the past two weeks and the latter registering 25 local transmissions over the same period.

As a result, Bau and Lundu districts are now classified as Covid-19 orange zones.

However, the coronavirus situation in Beluru has improved with the district returning to yellow zone status after registering a cumulative number of 20 cases over the past two weeks.

Meanwhile, seven districts namely Song, Dalat, Bintulu, Kanowit, Miri, Sibu and Kuching maintained their red zone status with a total of 1,934 cases recorded over the past 14 days.

Sarikei, Subis and Betong districts remained as orange zones with a total of 84 cases over the same period.

Seventeen districts maintained their yellow zone status with a total infection of 122 cases reported in the past 14 days. They are Matu, Daro, Sebauh, Lawas, Telang Usan, Bukit Mabong, Tatau, Pakan, Serian, Belaga, Meradong, Julau, Simunjan, Lubok Antu, Selangau, Samarahan and Sri Aman.

The number of green districts also remained unchanged at nine.

Sarawak today registered 105 new Covid-19 Covid-19 and one new fatality.

The fatality involved a 77-year-old man who had co-morbidity and stage four chronic lung disease, hypertension and gout.

SDMC revealed that the new cases reported were derived from Miri (20), Bintulu (19), Lundu (14), Sibu (13), Kapit (11), Meradong (8), Song (6), Bau (2), Kanowit (2), Serian (2), Kuching (1), Samarahan (1), Matu (1), Julau (1), Pakan (1), Dalat (1), Beluru (1) and Subis (1).

With these additions, the cumulative number of Covid-19 cases in Sarawak has increased to 4,555. — DayakDaily