‘Convene urgent Supreme Leadership Council meeting to address ‘termites’ in GPS issue’

Datuk Janang Bungsu

By Peter Sibon

KUCHING, March 26: There is an urgency for Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) to convene its Supreme Leadership Council (SLC) to address its teething problem in the four-party coalition due to the infringement of membership from Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB).

Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) secretary-general Datuk Janang Bungsu stressed that GPS must root out any undermining factor that could cause a rift within the ruling coalition.


“I suggest that GPS call for its SLC so that we can all sit down and address the issues faced by GPS especially with the aggressive campaign made by a GPS-friendly party (PSB) by pinching members from GPS component parties,” Janang told DayakDaily here today.

He pointed out that since Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg has identified the undermining factor and described them as ‘termites’, it was now time to act swiftly and get rid of them to prevent further erosion of Sarawakians’ confidence in GPS.

“As an engineer, the issue of termite infestation must be addressed seriously otherwise it will undermine GPS’ foundation,” he warned.

Janang reiterated that for GPS to stop these termites from further attacking its foundation, it must first and foremost get rid of the ‘queen’.

“Whoever this queen may be, we must act in unison to get rid of it and only then we can exterminate the whole colony (of termites). And once these termites are gone, GPS can move as one united front to face the next Sarawak election in unison,” he said.

He also agreed with Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) secretary-general Datuk Nelson Balang Rining that besides being parasites, these termites are also like ‘cancer cells’ which must be removed before they spread to rest of the body.

The last SLC meeting was held on January 9, this year after which GPS also launched its logo.

The SLC comprises all the presidents, deputy presidents and secretaries-general from all the four GPS component parties namely Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), PRS, Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) and PDP. — DayakDaily