Belaga joins Covid-19 red zones after logging 56 cases in two weeks

Graphics showing the Covid-19 red, orange and yellow zones in Sarawak as of May 4, 2021. Credit: Sarawak Disaster Information

KUCHING, May 4: Belaga’s Covid-19 advisory level has been elevated to red zone from orange zone after logging 56 local infections in the past 14 days.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its daily update on the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak, pointed out that with one more district in the red, Sarawak now has 24 districts classified as Covid-19 red zones.

The remaining 23 districts are Bau, Sebauh, Sri Aman, Julau, Lundu, Pakan, Song, Bukit Mabong, Kanowit, Selangau, Saratok, Subis, Mukah, Sarikei, Beluru, Samarahan, Serian, Meradong, Kuching, Kapit, Bintulu, Miri and Sibu.

Of these, Bintulu accumulated the highest number of cases in 14 days at 1,328 cases while Sibu came in second with 1,050 cases followed by Miri with 658 cases.

Tatau District, on the other hand, improved to orange from red previously after recording 30 local cases in the past two weeks.

With this, there are four districts currently classified as Covid-19 orange zone. The other three districts are Matu, Tanjung Manis and Betong.

As of today, there are 12 districts classified as yellow zones, namely Simunjan, Kabong, Marudi, Telang Usan, Lawas, Asajaya, Pusa, Dalat, Daro, Lubok Antu, Tebedu and Limbang.

Currently, there are no green zone districts in Sarawak. — DayakDaily