Asajaya falls out of green zone status after 4 new local Covid-19 infections detected

Graphic depicting the Covid-19 virus. Image credit: Pixabay, Creative Commons License

By Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, May 22: Asajaya district is no longer a green zone after reporting four new local infection cases today, as the district is now classified as a yellow zone.

This brings the total number of yellow zones in Sarawak to 11, while the number of green zone in the state has decreased to three.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in a daily Covid-19 statement today said alongside Asajaya, the other districts classified as yellow zones are Simunjan, Lundu, Julau, Lawas, Matu, Tanjung Manis, Dalat, Daro, Lubok Antu and Limbang.

Meanwhile, only Marudi, Telang Usan and Kabong remain as green zones.

Bukit Mabong, Tebedu, Betong, Pusa, Belaga, Sebauh, Sri Aman, Pakan, Song, Kanowit, Selangau, Saratok, Subis, Mukah, Sarikei, Beluru, Samarahan, Serian, Meradong, Kuching, Kapit, Bintulu, Miri, and Sibu districts remain as red zones with a total of 6,638 local infection cases recorded in the last 14 days.

Bau and Tatau districts remain as orange zones with a total of 71 local infection cases reported in the same period of time. — DayakDaily