Two new Covid-19 clusters identified in Kuching and Serian

Uggah (centre) addressing a press conference on the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak as of January 27. Also seen was Minister for Local Government and Housing Datuk Seri Dr Sim Kui Hian (left) and State Health Department director Dr Chin Zin Hing. Screenshot is taken from Ukas live streaming.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Adrian Lim

KUCHING, Jan 27: Two new clusters of Covid-19 were identified by the State Health Department today.

The new clusters were Indah Riang Cluster which involved the Kuching, Samarahan, Simunjan and Saratok districts and the Bedayan Cluster in Serian district.

“The index case for the Indah Riang Cluster is case 3,107 which was detected on January 23 after undergoing Covid-19 swab test at the Sarawak General Hospital as he was symptomatic.

“The active case detection to the index case has uncovered 15 more Covid-19 positive cases.

“Until January 27, 12 pm, a total of 128 individuals have been swabbed whereby 16 Covid-19 positive cases have been identified, 14 individuals tested negative and 98 individuals were awaiting laboratory test results for the swab test,” said State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas during a press conference here today.

Uggah added another new cluster of Covid-19, Bedayan Cluster involved the Serian and Samarahan districts in Sarawak.

He noted the index case of the cluster was case 2,545 which was identified on January 20 as a result of symptomatic screening at the Serian health clinic.

Subsequently, active case detection to the index case has discovered 12 more individuals who were positive Covid-19 including two new cases reported today.

As of noontime today, a total of 112 individuals related to the index case have been screened for Covid-19, whereby 13 were positive, 61 were tested negative and 38 individuals were awaiting laboratory results for their Covid-19 swab test.

Uggah who is also Deputy Chief Minister said with the formation of two new clusters of Covid-19, there are a total of 10 active clusters of coronavirus in Sarawak.

They are Indiah Riang, Bedayan, Rakut, Bukit Sekubong, Jelita, Pasai, Bah Sayap, Stutong, Tabuan Keranji and Mador.

Except for Indiah Riang, Bedayan, Pasai and Rakut, other active clusters did not report new cases.

Uggah who is also Second Finance Minister disclosed that the Pasai Cluster, one of the most infectious clusters of Covid-19 in Sarawak has reported 45 new cases today.

So far, the Pasai Cluster has infected a total of 1,630 people.

A total of 17,750 individuals linked to the cluster have been screened for Covid-19 with 14,530 tested negative and 1,390 individuals awaiting laboratory results for their swab test.

Uggah who is also the Modernisation Agriculture, Native Land and Regional Development Minister revealed the Rakut Cluster has reported six new cases today.

A total of 100 people have been infected with Covid-19 from the cluster and 350 individuals have been screened with 225 people tested negative and a further 25 people awaiting laboratory results for their Covid-19 swab test. —DayakDaily