Thunderstorm warnings for 12 districts in Sarawak until 4pm (Dec 3)

The advisory notice issued by MetMalaysia at 12.30pm on Dec 3, 2023.

KUCHING, Dec 3: Twelve districts in Sarawak were issued thunderstorm warnings until 4pm today.

Malaysian Meteorological Department (MetMalaysia), in an advisory issued at 12.30pm today, said the affected areas are Kuching, Serian, Samarahan, Sri Aman, Betong, Sarikei, Sibu, Kanowit, Mukah, Tanjong Manis, Daro, and Matu.

The department said a thunderstorm warning is issued when there are signs of a thunderstorm with a rain intensity of more than 20mm/hour close to or expected to last for more than an hour.

It added that a thunderstorm warning is a short-term warning valid for a period not exceeding six hours for a single release. — DayakDaily