Thunderstorm alert issued for 11 districts in Sarawak until 10pm (May 10)

The advisory notice issued by MetMalaysia at 7pm on May 10.

By DayakDaily Team

KUCHING, May 10: A thunderstorm alert has been issued for 11 districts in Sarawak until 10pm (May 10).

The Malaysian Meteorological Department (MetMalaysia) in an advisory notice issued at 7pm said the affected districts are Sri Aman, Kapit, Song, Bintulu, Tatau, Sebauh, Miri, Beluru, Telang Usan, Marudi and Limbang.


MetMalaysia said anticipated weather conditions include heavy rain and strong winds.

The department also said that a warning is issued when there are signs of a thunderstorm with rain intensity greater than 20mm/hour that is approaching or expected to last for more than an hour.

“A thunderstorm warning is a short-term warning that is valid for a maximum of six hours per release,” it added. — DayakDaily