Tebedu District now a Covid-19 orange zone with 28 cases, no green zones in Sarawak

A graphic showing the districts in Sarawak under red, orange and yellow zones.

KUCHING, May 5: Tebedu District has slid into the Covid-19 orange zone after registering 28 local cases in the past two weeks.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its daily update report on Covid-19 situation in Sarawak, reported that Tebedu has joined four other districts in the orange zone namely Matu, Tatau, Tanjung Manis and Betong.

A total of 24 districts remain in Covid-19 red zones with a cumulative number of 7,202 local cases registered in the past two week.

They are Bau, Belaga, Sebauh, Sri Aman, Julau, Lundu, Pakan, Song, Bukit Mabong, Kanowit, Selangau, Saratok, Subis, Mukah, Sarikei, Beluru, Samarahan, Serian, Meradong, Kuching, Kapit, Bintulu, Miri and Sibu.

Of these districts, Bintulu recorded the highest number of cases in the last 14 days with 1,298 cases followed by Sibu with 1,108 cases and Miri came in third with 651 cases.

A total of 11 districts are still under yellow zone namely Simunjan, Kabong, Marudi, Telang Usan, Lawas, Asajaya, Pusa, Dalat, Daro, Lubok Antu and Limbang with a cumulative of 59 cases recorded in the past two weeks.

Currently, no districts are classified as green zones. — DayakDaily