SUPP to contest 18 seats: 8 new faces, 7 defends, 3 familiar candidates

Sarawak polls (file photo).

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Ling Hui, Nur Ashikin Louis and Nancy Nais

KUCHING, Dec 3: Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) has fielded 18 candidates from Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) with eight new faces in the upcoming Sarawak polls.

The first-timers and their respective contesting constituencies are Dato Wee Hong Seng in Padungan, Billy Sujang in Opar, Desmond Sateng Sanjan in Engkilili, Chieng Jin Ek in Bukit Assek, Pang Leong Ming in Tanjong Batu, Adam Yii in Pujut, Senator Robert Lau in Bawang Assan, and Michael Tiang in Pelawan.

Meanwhile, the seven incumbents who will be defending their seats include Lo Khere Chiang in Batu Kitang, Dato Sri Dr Sim Kui Hian in Batu Kawah, Datuk Francis Harden Hollis in Simanggang, Dato Sri Huang Tiong Sii in Repok, Datuk Ding Kuong Hing in Meradong, Datuk Sebastian Ting in Piasau, and Dato Sri Lee Kim Shin in Senadin.

The remaining three candidates are no strangers to Sarawakians, for they had contested in the same seat under the then Barisan Nasional (BN) flag in the 11th Sarawak Election (PRN11).

While Milton Foo will continue to fight for Pending, Sih Hua Tong and Yap Yau Sin will remain standing in Batu Lintang and Kota Sentosa, respectively.

For other GPS component parties, there will be 11 candidates from Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS), six from Progressive Democratic Party (PDP), and 47 from Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB). — DayakDaily