Status quo for Covid-19 zones in Sarawak today

Sarawak Covid-19 statistics as at Jan 31, 2021. Graphics courtesy of SDMC

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, Jan 31: There are no Covid-19 zone changes in Sarawak today with all 40 districts maintaining their statuses from yesterday.

The state’s nine green zones namely Asajaya, Limbang, Tanjung Manis, Tebedu, Mukah, Pusa, Saratok, Kabong and Marudi have secured their safe statuses today with zero new local cases reported.

One step up, the present 19 yellow zones in the state registered a total of 148 local cases over the past 14 days.

They are Matu, Daro, Lundu, Sebauh, Lawas, Telang Usan, Bukit Mabong, Tatau, Bau, Pakan, Serian, Belaga, Meradong, Julau, Simunjan, Lubok Antu, Selangau, Samarahan and Sri Aman.

Moving on to the orange zones of Kapit, Sarikei, Subis and Betong, 120 local cases in total were recorded over the last two weeks.

The eight Covid-19 red zones comprising Song, Dalat, Bintulu, Kanowit, Beluru, Miri, Sibu and Kuching registered 1,993 local transmission cases over the past fortnight.

In view of the increasing number of cases lately, State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) announced the implementation of Movement Control Order (MCO) on Kapit, an orange zone and Song, a red zone.

The MCO will be in effect for two weeks from 12.01am on Feb 2 until 11.59pm on Feb 15.

Meanwhile, Sarawak registered one fatality in Sibu and 135 new cases across the state as of today.

The new cases were in Sibu (47), Miri (32), Bintulu (15), Bau (11), Subis (7), Song (7), Kuching (5), Kanowit (4), Lundu (3), Serian (2), Sri Aman (1) and Sebauh (1). — DayakDaily