Stakan incumbent Mohammad Ali makes way for GPS new face

GPS leaders gathering to launch GPS election machinery at PBB headquarters in Kuching today (Nov 28, 2021).

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Ling Hui, Nur Ashikin Louis & Chris Bishop

KUCHING, Nov 28: Stakan incumbent Datuk Amar Mohammad Ali Mahmud will make way for a younger candidate from Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) in the upcoming 12th Sarawak State Election (PRN12).

Other than Mohammad Ali, Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg said there are many more incumbents who have agreed to let younger candidates with potential take their places to contest in the State polls.

“Like Datuk Amar Michael Manyin (Jawong) who is still very much spirited has chosen not to be renominated as candidate (for Tebedu).

“There are also (Kalaka incumbent) Datuk Abdul Wahab (Aziz), Stakan (incumbent) Datuk Amar (Mohammad) Ali Mahmud, and many more who are giving way to new faces because that is the culture that we have (in Sarawak),” he said.

Adding he was proud to say that Sarawakian leaders are not power mad, Abang Johari said he himself would have to one day in the future take his leave from politics as well when his age no longer permits.

He stressed, however, the spirit of unity must remain even in new generations to come who will be responsible to bring the State forward from 2030 to 2050.

Though the world will be different then, he said, Sarawak’s solidarity must never waver to ensure a forever stable and clean government which the people need.

“Now the people want a very stable government, and also they want a clean government.

“What happened in Melaka (elections), that is the signal. Thank God Sarawak has that stable government, and it must be stable forever in Sarawak,” he said when launching the GPS election machinery at Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) headquarters here today.

Meanwhile, Gedong incumbent Datuk Mohd Naroden Majais and Katibas incumbent Dato Sri Ambrose Blikau Enturan have also earlier reported not to defend their respective seats in coming election.

Mohammad Ali was elected as an assemblyman in the 11th Sarawak Election (PRN11) when he won against Democratic Action Party (DAP) Leslie Ting Xiang Zhi with a majority of 7,042 votes. — DayakDaily