Sri Aman declared Covid-19 red zone, 51 cases in past 14 days

File photo for illustration purposes

KUCHING, April 29: Sri Aman was declared a Covid-19 red zone today, even as the remaining districts in Sarawak were unchanged in status.

According to the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in a press statement today, a total of 51 infections have been recorded in Sri Aman in the past 14 days, changing the district’s status from orange to red.

“The addition of Sri Aman into the red zone district (category) brings the total number of districts with the red zone status to 24 districts,” it said.

SDMC added currently, seven districts are classified as Covid-19 orange zones, and nine districts as yellow zones. Only one district remains as a Covid-19 green status.

As of today, the 23 districts in the red are Sri Aman, Matu, Lundu, Pakan, Song, Tatau, Bukit Mabong, Belaga, Kanowit, Selangau, Saratok, Subis, Mukah, Sarikei, Beluru, Samarahan, Serian, Meradong, Kuching, Kapit, Bintulu, Miri and Sibu.

The seven districts classified as orange zones are Tanjung Manis, Sebauh, Bau, Julau, Betong, Kabong, Pakan, and Marudi.

Telang Usan, Lawas, Asajaya, Pusa, Dalat, Daro Lubok Antu, Tebedu and Limbang are classified as yellow zones, while Simunjan is the sole district with green status. — DayakDaily