Selangau falls into red zone, 5 districts remain as Covid-19 green zones in Sarawak

Graphic depicting the Covid-19 virus. Image credit: Pixabay, Creative Commons License

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, Aug 7: Selangau has been classified as a Covid-19 red zone after recording 12 new positive Covid-19 today.

According to the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in a statement today, with the additional number of cases reported from the district today, Selangau now has a total of 44 local infection cases reported in the past 14 days.

Aside from that, the committee said Kapit is now an orange zone, dropping out of its prior yellow zone status, with a total of 22 local infection cases recorded in last two weeks, while Sarikei and Pakan are now yellow zones after recording only 16 and 10 local infection cases respectively, in the past fortnight.

As of today, a total of 18 districts, namely Selangau, Sri Aman, Kabong, Asajaya, Subis, Mukah, Simunjan, Tatau, Lundu, Saratok, Bau, Meradong, Samarahan, Serian, Kuching, Bintulu, Miri and Sibu are classified as red zones.

Seven districts, namely Kapit, Dalat, Telang Usan, Kanowit, Beluru, Tebedu and Betong are orange zones, while ten other districts, namely Sarikei, Pakan, Sebauh, Julau, Lawas, Daro, Tanjung Manis, Song, Pusa, and Belaga are yellow zones.

Bukit Mabong, Lubok Antu, Matu, Marudi and Limbang are the remaining five districts still classified as green zones in Sarawak. — DayakDaily