Sarawak to host national-level Arabic and Chinese Calligraphy Competition from Dec 19-21

Abdul Karim (fourth right) in a group photo with others at the press conference at Baitul Makmur 2 building on Dec 2, 2022.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, Dec 2: Sarawak will host the national-level Arabic and Chinese Calligraphy Competition at Imperial Hotel here from Dec 19 to 21.

Sarawak Minister of Tourism, Creative Industry and Performing Arts (MTCP) Dato Sri Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah said the competition attracted over 200 participants nationwide.

“During the event, there will be special workshops from Arabic and Chinese calligraphy experts and a calligraphy exhibition including the artwork from the participants.

“In the workshop session, there will also be a talk from a Chinese calligraphy expert from China via Zoom,” he said during a press conference on national level Arab and Chinese calligraphy competition at Baitul Makmur 2 here today.

The competition, with RM58,600 total cash prizes up for grabs, is co-organised by Sarawak Islamic Religion Department (JAIS) and Kuching-Samarahan Chinese Calligraphy Society, as well as supported by the MTCP.

There are four categories: Chinese calligraphy secondary (for secondary school students), Chinese calligraphy open, Arabic calligraphy secondary and Arabic calligraphy open.

For Open categories in Arabic and Chinese calligraphy, the champion will bring home a cash prize of RM6,000, followed by the runner-up (RM3,000), the second runner-up (RM2,000), and a consolation prize of RM800.

For Secondary categories in both Arabic and Chinese calligraphy, the champion will bring home a cash prize of RM2,000, followed by the runner-up (RM1,500), second runner-up (RM1,000), fourth place (RM800), and 10 excellent calligraphy winners (RM400 each).

Amongst those present were MTCP principal assistant secretary Nasir Lariwoo, JAIS Islamic Affairs officer Abdus-Salam Morshidi, Kuching-Samarahan Chinese Calligraphy Society president Ang Seng Bian and secretary Jong Kin Ann. — DayakDaily