Sarawak Peoples’ Congress to be held on May 2, 2020

Congress convenors (from left)  Hugh Lawrence, Buln, Jane, Soo, Goh, Tok and Sivanesan. Sanmugalingam, Andrew Uhwut.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, Nov 11: A Sarawak activist group called ‘Sovereigntists’ will be organising a citizens’ assembly named the “Sarawak Peoples’ Congress” 2020 on May 2, 2020.

The programme convenor, Lina Soo said that the congress will be focused on the themes of sovereignty, self-determination and solidarity.

She said among the papers to be presented at the Congress include Sarawak Sovereignty-Past, Present, Future; Self-Determination under United Nations Charter Article 1 Para 2 and Article 55 para 1; Ownership and Economic Rights of Sarawak Oil and Gas and Sarawak Economic Sustainability Study and Shadow Budget.

“There will also be a Sarawak Shadow Budget to offer an alternative vision to manage the economic challenges and offers perspectives on what the State government budget should contain in terms of spending and revenue generation,” she said in a press statement yesterday.

Soo, who is also State Reform Party (STAR) president held that economic sustainability is the ability of a country to support its population ad infinitum and it is imperative to assess if Sarawak has the economic resources for financial independence and self-reliance to meet the future needs of its people.

She also pointed that the Congress will culminate in a Resolution supported by the majority of informed Sarawakians represented in the Congress.

The resolution will be copied to the Sarawak government and Federal government.

The Congress incorporates Breakout Sessions for open discussions on road map for a brighter Sarawak future which will be conducted in three languages – English, Bahasa Malaysia and Mandarin; and a session on NCR land code.

An additional training session on ‘Activism for Change’, which is optional, will also be provided upon popular request.

The administration and conduct of the Congress will be managed by a Committee of Convenors assigned specific tasks  as follows:  Soo as Convenor – Programme; Hugh Lawrence Zehnder as Convenor – Finance and Budget, and Chris Goh as Convenor – Administration and Governance.

Area Convenors are:  Andrew Uhwut – Lundu, Buln Ribos – Bau, Mason Tok – Siburan, David Gubah – Serian, Anuar Hamid – Bintulu and Fong Pau Teck – Miri.

All participants will receive a Certificate of Participation. The Congress is open to members of public and admission is free, but registration is required to secure a seat.For inquiry or registration, contact or whatsapp to 019-8152872/014-5950511. — DayakDaily