Sarawak Energy recognises its 26 contractors for commitment to safety compliance in CTP Award 2020

A screenshot of the virtual event for CTP Award 2020.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, July 16: Some 26 Sarawak Energy Berhad (Sarawak Energy) contractors have been recognised for their commitment to safety compliance at the recent Contractor Transformation Programme (CTP) Award 2020.

Sarawak Energy said last year, 15 of its contractors were recognised for successfully complying with every safety aspect in their work processes and environmental protection.

Held annually since 2017, the CTP Award is part of the corporation’s ongoing effort to instill health, safety, security and environment (HSSE) excellence at project sites towards making a safe place to work.

The 2020 edition of the awards assessed 36 contractors and awarded six contractors gold, nine given silver and another 10 for bronze awards for successfully cultivating HSSE Excellence in projects and enabling a generative HSE Culture, compliance with the corporation’s Life-Saving Rules and proactiveness in building safety compliance at the workplace.

Sarawak Energy Group chief executive officer Datu Sharbini Suhaili while congratulating the winning contractors, especially on the role they played in combating Covid-19 at project sites with their compliance to the company and government directives to keep people safe, also highlighted how the programme has enabled the continuous improvement of contractors’ safety performance.

“The Contractor Transformation Programme has enabled us to identify gaps in health, safety and environmental performances for Sarawak Energy and our contractors, facilitating the development and implementation of remedial measures,” he said in his speech at the virtual CTP Award.

The event was also attended by director of Department of Occupational Safety and Health (DOSH) Sarawak Ir Dr Nor Halim Hasan, director of Department of Environment (DOE) Sarawak Hamzah Mohamad, controller of Natural Resources and Environment Board (NREB) Sarawak Peggy Ronin Edin and 800 other participants.

Meanwhile, Sarawak Energy senior vice president for Health, Safety, Security and Environment Marconi Madai highlighted the programme’s alignment with DOSH’s National OSH Master Plan 2016-2020 to inculcate a Preventive Culture at the workplace and DOE’s Guided Self-Regulation to lead contractors towards HSE Self-Regulation.

“Our CTP Awards aims to encourage closer engagements with contractors as well as to identify and establish remedial measures in addressing issues related to accident preventions, regulatory compliance and best practices in line with the Continuous Improvement towards HSSE Excellence,” he explained.

The gold award recipients for CTP Award 2020 were Gabungan Binaan Jurutenaga Sdn Bhd, Highline Electrical Works, Hii Brothers Electrical Co., Kejuruteraan Powerpoint Sdn Bhd, Metro Glide Sdn Bhd, and Timor Kencana Sdn Bhd.

The silver award recipients this year were Aik Loung Land & Marine Electric Motor Works Sdn Bhd, Avid Ventures Sdn Bhd, AZ Enterprise, Ciri Kuasa Sdn Bhd, Hankong Electrical Sdn Bhd, Hii Hua Chuon Electrical Works, John Ho & Company, Phang Yeu Fatt & Paul Phang Contractors Sdn Bhd and Yamaco Engineering Sdn Bhd.

The bronze award recipients were Glorious (NG) Electrical Engineering Sdn Bhd, Mega Electrical Engineering Service, Aura Mutiara Sdn Bhd, Lim Aik Chai Electrical Sdn Bhd, Hing Lee Electrical & Air-Condition Works, Promace Engineering Sdn Bhd, Sun Enterprise & Services Co, Selamat Jaya, Setia Yara Electrical Works and Yong Kiong Aircond & Electrical Sdn Bhd. — DayakDaily