Sarawak Energy Junior Badminton Championship 2020 kicks off March 14

File photo of Sarawak Energy Junior Badminton Championship.

KUCHING, March 8: Sarawak Energy Junior Badminton Championship 2020 will be held in three locations statewide, with the first leg starting in Miri on March 14-17.

Sarawak Energy Bhd said the much anticipated Junior Badminton Championship for primary and secondary school students will also take place in Kuching and Sibu.

The annual tournament will hold its first leg in Miri on March 14 to 17 at the Champion Badminton Court at Jalan Riam, followed by the Sibu leg on July 25-28. The final leg of the series will culminate in Kuching on November 25-29.

The championship is segmented into four categories, namely Boys’ Singles, Girls’ Singles, Boys’ Doubles and Girls’ Doubles.

“The Boys’ Singles and Girls’ Singles categories are for Under 10, Under 12, Under 15, and Under 19, while the Boys’ Doubles and the Girls’ Doubles categories are for Under 12, Under 15 and Under 19.

“The four-day tournament will be based on a single-elimination tournament bracket system with the best of three games of 21 points. It is open to all Sarawakian, permanent residents and those with work and study permits, between the age of 19 years and below,” Sarawak Energy said in a statement.

It added that each leg of the tournament offers attractive prizes with winners from each location qualifying for the grand finale and championship trophy, including medals and cash prizes.

Sarawak Energy assured that they will exercise extra precautionary measures during the duration of the tournament to safeguard the health of participants and attendees.

“Those who are not feeling well, or with a recent travel history to affected countries such as listed by the State Disaster Management Committee or a history of close contact with a confirmed case of Covid-19 are advised not to attend the event,” it said.

The registration form for Sarawak Energy Junior Badminton 2020 Miri Series is now available at, and interested participants are to submit their forms online together with their registration fees through the provided link, before the closing date on Wednesday, March 11.

The registration fee is RM10 per player for the Singles Categories and RM15 for the Doubles Categories. Fees are non-refundable and manual registration is unavailable.

For more details and inquiries, log on to or, or contact Polycarp at 016-7778790 (Miri), Adli Akbar at 019-8002711 (Sibu), and Irene Liew at 012-882 9799 and Kelvin Jee at 012-8787533 (Kuching). — DayakDaily