RM1 flat rate bus services available June 18-Aug 31 to Covid-19 vaccination centres in 8 divisions

Datuk Lee Kim Shin

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, June 20: Bus services are now available along routes linking to Covid-19 vaccination centres (PPVs) in eight divisions from June 18 to Aug 31 under the Transport Ministry RM1 Flat Rate Bus Fare Programme.

Minister for Transport Datuk Lee Kim Shin said such bus services would be available in Kuching, Kota Samarahan, Serian, Sri Aman, Sarikei, Sibu, Mukah and Miri.

He said this is the effort of the Sarawak government in coordination with the Commercial Vehicle Licensing Board (CVLB) Sarawak through the Ministry to allow stage bus companies to extend their services for the needy public.

“The Sarawak government is very committed and is currently putting in great effort to get all Sarawakians of eligible age to be vaccinated in order to achieve a herd immunity under the Covid-19 immunisation programme.

“Amid all this, the State government is also fully aware that there is a number of people who does not have easy access to the PPVs for immunisation purposes due to the distances from their homes or have large family members that cannot fit into the same car under the current SOP (standard operating procedure).

“In view of this, the Ministry of Transport, Sarawak had been tasked by the State government to coordinate with stage bus companies to extend their services and operate along routes linking to PPVs or immunisation centres for the convenience of the public,” he said in a statement today.

List of vaccination centres in Kuching, Kota Samarahan and Serian and respective bus routes.

In addition, Lee said Sarawak Metro Sdn Bhd was also invited to support this initiative by providing free hydrogen bus services to the public along the same routes in Kuching.

He said the relevant government authorities including the police and Road Transport Department (JPJ) was notified to render all necessary assistance if required to ensure the success of this initiative.

List of vaccination centres in Sri Aman, Sarikei, Sibu, Mukah and Miri and respective bus routes.

“On behalf of the Sarawak government, I would like to thank all the stage bus companies as well as Sarawak Metro for supporting this government initiative by providing such services at a short notice.

“In the midst of all this, I urge all Sarawakians who are eligible and have not registered for vaccination to register now so that they will not pose health risk to family members and also to be protected from people who unknowingly have been exposed to Covid-19,” he added. — DayakDaily