PRS’ 11 incumbents to fight for state seats in PRN12

Masing (centre) together with PRS elected representatives and political secretaries to the Chief Minister, speaking to members of the media after chairing PRS supreme council meeting held at PRS headquarters in Kuching today.

By Peter Sibon

KUCHING, June 20: Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) will renominate all its 11 incumbent assemblymen for the coming state election but will leave the final decision to the chief minister who is Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) chairman to decide.

PRS president Tan Sri Dr James Jemut Masing is also optimistic that the party can retain all 11 seats it won in the last state election, which was held in 2016.

“I’m very confident that we will retain all these seats for GPS,” Masing told a news conference after chairing PRS supreme council meeting at PRS headquarters here today.

PRS’ 11 assemblyman are: Masing himself who is also Baleh assemblyman, Wilson Nyabong Ijang (Pelagus), Datuk Liwan Lagang (Belaga), Kennedy Chukpai Ugon (Murum), Datuk John Sikie Tayai (Kakus), Majang Renggie (Samalaju), Christopher Gira (Tamin), Alexander Vincent (Ngemah), Datuk Malcom Mussem Lamoh (Batang Ai), Datuk Mong Dagang (Bukit Begunan) and Datuk Snowdan Lawan (Balai Ringin).

He also reiterated that PRS has also readied its machinery in its six parliamentary seats should a snap 15th general election be held simultaneously with the state election.

Out of the six seats, PRS only currently holds two seats, that is Hulu Rajang and Kanowit after losing three seats in the last 14th general election and later Sri Aman when its MP Datuk Masir Kujat left to join Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB).

“Definitely Datuk Wilson Ugak will be renominated for Hulu Rajang and Datuk Aaron Dagang for Kanowit.

“And we will field our candidates in four of our seats, namely Julau, Lubok Antu, Selangau and Sri Aman. We will put our candidates in there,” he reiterated.

Earlier, he said PRS is now preparing for a possible simultaneous 15th General Election (GE15) and 12th State Election (PRN12) which he reckoned could be held some time this year.

“We are preparing our billboards and posters for that. Of course, the party will nominate our candidates and the chief minister will decide.

“Because for GPS, the big boss is the Chief Minister (who is also GPS chairman). So, we don’t have to send the decision to KL. It is up to CM whether he agrees or not with our nomination,” he said, explaining that in the past when PRS was part of Barisan Nasional (BN), the final decision would be made by the chairman of BN., who was traditionally the prime minister. —DayakDaily