Polytechnics, universities and tuition centres to be closed too, says SDMC

Image by Nikolay Georgiev from Pixabay

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, April 19: The closure of educational institutions in Covid-19 red zones from April 20 to May 3 also applies to polytechnics, public and private universities and tuition centres.

This is the latest announcement made by State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in its daily Covid-19 statement today.

“As what has been announced by Chief Minister, all educational institutions under the Ministry of Education Malaysia (KPM) and all categories of the Private Educational Institutions (IPS) registered under KPM including international schools in Covid-19 red zones are to be closed effective 12.01am on April 20 until 11.59pm on May 3.

“This includes preschools, kindergartens, primary and secondary schools, polytechnics, universities (public and private) and tuition centres,” it said.

Adding on, SDMC said only students sitting for the Malaysian Certificate of Education (SPM) and Malaysian Higher School Certificate (STPM) examinations are allowed to go to schools while observing strict standard operating procedures (SOPs).

This morning, Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg said all schools and tuition centres in Covid-19 red zones are to be closed for 14 days.

Later on the same day, Welfare, Community Wellbeing, Women, Family and Childhood Development (KWKPK) Minister Dato Sri Fatimah Abdullah also released a statement saying that all preschools and kindergartens are to be closed for the same period of time.

As of today, there are 20 Covid-19 red zones namely Kuching, Bintulu, Miri, Sibu, Sri Aman, Bukit Mabong, Belaga, Kanowit, Selangau, Saratok, Subis, Matu, Mukah, Sarikei, Beluru, Samarahan, Serian, Julau, Meradong and Kapit. — DayakDaily