Police permits now needed for travel between Kuching/Samarahan, Serian, Lundu, Bau

Police manning a roadblock to restrict the movement of vehicles in this file photo.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, May 24: Travel between Kuching/Samarahan, Serian, Lundu and Bau for necessary services, work purposes and emergencies now require police permits, effective tomorrow (May 25).

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) said the previous zone classification for Kuching which encompassed Kuching, Samarahan and Serian Divisions are now split into four new zones.

Kuching Zone comprises Kuching and Samarahan districts, Serian Zone, Lundu Zone and Bau Zone comprise their district namesakes.

“All movements between these zones are allowed for necessary services, working individuals and emergencies with police permits.

“[A]ffected residents who are working permanently in the four Zones mentioned are exempted from the need for Covid-19 swab tests every 14 days and are allowed to obtain police permits by submitting letters from their employers,” said the committee in a statement today.

This new measure is an update to the standard operating procedure (SOP) for Sarawak’s tightened Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) until June 7 in view of the high number of daily infections recorded across the State recently. — DayakDaily