New Julau community cluster involves residents from two longhouses, 84 cases confirmed


Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, Sept 12: A community cluster has emerged in Julau, with a total of 84 confirmed Covid-19 cases so far.

According to the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in a report today, the cluster, dubbed the Nanga Lasi Mit Cluster, involved residents from two longhouses near Nanga Lasi Mit.

“Out of 224 individuals screened, 84 of them were found positive, including the index case, and 140 others were negative,” it said.

The committee added, the cluster also reported a total of 59 new cases today, and all positive cases from the cluster were brought to Sarikei Hospital and Covid-19 Low-Risk Treatment and Quarantine Centres (PKRC) in the district for isolation and further treatment.

Meanwhile, SDMC also declared the end of three clusters in Kuching, namely the 511 Sentosa Cluster, Kampung Seratau Cluster, and Kampung Sungai Laruh Cluster.

SDMC said zero new cases were detected or reported from the three clusters over the previous 28 days.

As of today, a total of 135 clusters are still active throughout the State, with 27 reporting a total of 389 new cases today.

Ten of the active clusters were reported to have recorded double-digit gains, namely the KM20 Jalan Betong Cluster (65), Beruru Cluster (61), Nanga Lasi Mit Cluster (59), Kampung Simpok Cluster (54), Bungey Cluster (32), Lubuk Bukut Cluster (18), Pasai Matu Cluster (18), Jalan Usaha Jaya Dua Cluster (13), Long Urun Cluster (13), and Duras Cluster (10).

Other clusters that reported new cases are the Kampung Lintang Baru Cluster (8), Galaxy Cluster (7), Sungai Penyarai 2 Cluster (6), Kampung Bunga Cluster (4), Kampung Sikog Cluster (3), Sebayang-Stalun Cluster (3), and two cases each for Industri Jalan-Semeba Cluster, Sawit Gelasah Cluster, Sibuluh-Nowang Cluster, and Annah Rais Cluste.

Meanwhile, the Kaman Cluster, Kampung Dangak Cluster, Mapu Cluster, Opar Cluster, SEPOM Serian Cluster, Tanah Mawang Cluster, Bijongon Cluster, all reported one case each. — DayakDaily