Nearly 700 landowners from Samarahan, Serian divisions receive land titles

Awang Tengah (fourth left) presenting the communal land reserve to one of a village chief of one of the affected village as other invited guests look on.

By Jacob Achoi

SERIAN, Sept 3: Some 699 landowners received their land titles under Section 18 of Sarawak Land Code (SLC) in a ceremony at Kpg Pichin, here yesterday.

The recipients were a mixture of Malay, Bidayuh and Iban communities from Samarahan and Serian divisions.

The ceremony was officiated by Deputy Premier Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan, who also presented communal land reserve under Section 6 of SLC involving Kpg Murud Plaman, Kpg Murud Mawang, Kpg Sumpas, Kpg Reban, Kpg Lubok Ria and Kpg Paon Rimu in Serian division.

Also included in the ceremony was the handing over of Temporary Occupation Licence (TOL) for village extension programme for Kpg Simpok, Kpg Mundai, Kpg Sarig in Padawan, Kpg Bintawa Sungai Bari and Kpg Vintages Lama in Serian.

Awang Tengah said the Sarawak government is serious and will continue with the process to survey NCR land.

“The government recognises NCR land, and also traditional villages and will continue with the process of surveying both under Section 6 and Section 18 of SLC.

“However, there must be an application to do so, a proof that the land really belongs to the landowners and without any dispute,” Awang Tengah, who is also Second Minister of Natural Resources and Urban Development pointed out.

Awang Tengah also said a total of 800,176 hectares have been gazetted under Section 6 from 1,040,212 hectares which have been surveyed across the State until July 31 this year. — DayakDaily