Muhyiddin to be sworn in as 8th Prime Minister on March 1

Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin. (photo sourced from

By Adrian Lim

KUCHING, Feb 29: Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia’s (Bersatu) president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin is the eighth prime minister of Malaysia.

According to a press statement issued by Istana Negara today, the comptroller Datuk Ahmad Fadil Samsuddin said Muhyiddin will be appointed as the prime minister.

The statement stated that the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah is expected to appoint Muhyiddin in accordance with Article 40 (2) (a) and Article 43(2) (a) of the Federal Constitution.

He said the investiture and the swearing-in ceremony will be held at Istana Negara tomorrow (March 1) at 10:30 am

Bersatu president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin was said to have the most numbers of MPs supporting him as the candidate for the prime minister post.

Posts circulating in social media has it that Muhyiddin received the backing of 114 MPs.

In the meantime, Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) is also said to have supported Muhyiddin to become the next prime minister.

Meanwhile, there is a notice calling for a press conference at Istana Negara at 5 pm today.

Muhyiddin is widely expected to make an announcement during the press conference. —DayakDaily