Mechanic returning from Bintulu is index case of new Tabuan Melayu Cluster

File photo of a mechanic at work for illustration purposes. Photo source: Pixabay, Creative Commons License

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, April 29: A new cluster dubbed the Tabuan Melayu Cluster has been detected after four more people from Kampung Tabuan Melayu here were infected with Covid-19, sparked by a 58-year-old mechanic who had returned from Bintulu.

The Tabuan Melayu Cluster is one of six new Covid-19 clusters declared in Sarawak today.

There are two clusters detected in Kuching namely the Taman Pelita Cluster involving a funeral gathering with six cases and the Tabuan Jaya Cluster involving a secondary school (five cases), while the three other clusters are the Durin Cluster in Bau (six cases), Sileng Dayak Cluster in Lundu (72 cases) and Sains Bakam Cluster in Miri (17 cases).

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its daily update report on the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak, revealed that the Covid-19 cluster was detected at Kampung Tabuan Melayu here.

The index case or Case 22,197 is a 58-year-old man who was detected after undergoing a pre-travel screening on April 15 at the Jalan Masjid Health Clinic here.

The case went for a Covid-19 screening in order to get approval and permit to travel and return to Bintulu for work, where he worked as a mechanic in a local company.

SDMC revealed that he was infected in Bintulu between April 23 and 9, and spread the disease to family members and close contacts in the village.

An active case detection (ACD) operation among the family members and social contacts had picked up four more positive cases.

As of today, a total of 66 individuals have been screened, whereby 52 tested negative while nine are still awaiting lab test results.

With six new clusters, Sarawak now has 71 active clusters in which 10 clusters recorded an increase in daily infections with a total of 50 cases today.

The clusters are Melugu with 12 cases, Icom and Pondok (8 cases each), Jalan Disa (7 cases), Duranda Emas (6 cases), Tarat Tani (4 cases), Disso (2 cases), while Kampung Tengah, Sungai Tuah and Jalan Maju has one case each. — DayakDaily