Marudi, Simunjan, Asajaya, Telang Usan, and Kabong holding on as Covid-19 safe zones

Graphics show the various districts in Sarawak classified as Covid-19 red, orange, yellow and green zones as of May 18, 2021. Credit: Sarawak Disaster Information

KUCHING, May 18: The five districts of Marudi, Simunjan, Asajaya, Telang Usan and Kabong are maintaining their Covid-19 green zone status with no local Covid-19 cases reported in the past two weeks.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its daily Covid-19 update for Sarawak, however reported that there are still three active cases under treatment in Asajaya and two in Marudi.

Lundu District improved to orange status from red today after recording 29 local infections in the past fortnight.

This thus reduces the number red zone districts to 25 while increasing the number of orange zone districts to two, which includes Tatau which accumulated 29 cases in the past fortnight.

There are currently 25 districts classified as Covid-19 red zones with a cumulative 6,409 cases recorded in the past 14 days.

Miri tops the list with 1,224 cases followed by Sibu (999), Bintulu (802), Kapit (463), Kuching (462), Selangau (350), Pakan (217), Kanowit (199), Sri Aman (171), Sarikei (163), Subis (153), Pusa (151), Mukah (138), Belaga (118), Meradong (105), Betong (102), Samarahan (89), Serian (84), Tebedu (74), Song (72), Sebauh (67), Beluru (61), Bau (50), Bukit Mabong (48) and Saratok (47).

Eight districts have retained their yellow zone status with a cumulative 60 cases recorded in the past two weeks. They are Julau, Lawas, Matu, Tanjung Manis, Dalat, Daro, Lubok Antu and Limbang. — DayakDaily