Indonesian film industry veteran Rahardjo impressed with AIFFA

Livan (seated centre, green dress) during a group photo with some of the award winners and jury members of AIFFA 2019.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Nigel Edgar

KUCHING, April 28: Indonesian actor, director and screenwriter Slamet Rahardjo Djarot describes the Asean International Film Festival and Awards (AIFFA) as one of the very few avenues for various filmmakers and actors from all Asean member countries to congregate and get together.

He thanked Sarawak and AIFFA 2019 organisers especially festival director Livan Tajang for having organised one of Asean’s most prestigious biennial awards and hoped this would pave more ways for Asean filmmakers and actors to bloom and eventually make a name for themselves internationally.

Rahardjo making a speech upon receiving his Lifetime Achievement Award.

“I thank Livan Tajang for organising AIFFA. All this while if I were to meet with other Asean filmmakers and actors, I would have to go to France, Germany and other European countries occasionally when there are award shows. But thanks for AIFFA and Livan Tajang, I am able to meet all the other filmmakers and actors.

“We filmmakers and actors are like birds. And this AIFFA is like our nest,” he said metaphorically upon receiving the honorary AIFFA 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award during the Gala Night here on Saturday.

The award was presented by Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg.

Rahardjo, 70, is a veteran in the world of filmmaking. He started his career in acting in 1975. He is well known especially in Indonesia for various films such as “Sang Penari” (2011) and “Badai Pasti Berlalu” (2007).

Rahardjo speaking upon receiving his Lifetime Achievement Award as Minister of Tourism Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah (left) and Abang Johari (second left) listen in.

Meanwhile, Hollywood star Steven Seagal was also given an honorary Luminary Award, also presented by Abang Johari.

Seagal in his induction speech said he is planning to move to Asia, particularly an Asean country, and start a base there for further projects especially filmmaking.

Seagal making a speech upon receiving his Luminary Award.

Other honorary awards recipients are Bruneian film “Rina 2” being awarded the Asean Spirit Award; and three Special Jury Awards given to Bruneian film “Hari Minggu Yang ke-4”, Thai film “Bad Genius” and Myanmar film “Shwe Kyar (Golden Lotus)”.

Back to the main awards, Filipino film “Signal Rock” was awarded the AIFFA 2019 Best Film Award. Malaysia managed to bag the Best Director Award which went to Nam Ron with his film “Crossroads: One Two Jaga”.

Best Actor Award went to Kristoffer King from the Philippines with the film “Kristo”. Sadly he passed away in February 23, 2019 of an illness.

Indonesian actress Raihaanun Nabila won the Best Actress Award through her film “27 Steps of May”.

Best Supporting Actor Awards went to Malaysian Amerul Affendi with the film “Crossroads: One Two Jaga”, and Best Supporting Actress Awards went to Filipino Barbara Miguel with the film “1-2-3 Gasping for Air”.

Best Film Editing Award went to Indonesian film “Ave Maryam” while the Best Director of Photography Awards went to Na Gyi of Myanmar with the film “Mi”.

Best Screenplay Award was bagged by Vietnamese film “Song Lang”. — DayakDaily