Health DG: 799 local transmissions today, eight new clusters in five states

9 new cases reported today

KUCHING, Oct 30: Malaysia recorded a total of 799 new local transmission cases involving positive Covid-19 as of today, with eight new clusters identified.

According to Ministry of Health (MOH) director-general Tan Sri Dr. Noor Hisham Abdullah, the new cluster that has been identified involved a total of seven individuals namely in Sabah (3), Selangor (2), Negeri Sembilan (1), Labuan (1) and Johor (1).

“A total of 466 new cases were reported in Sabah today, followed by Selangor with 150 cases, Labuan (65), Pulau Pinang (35), Negeri Sembilan (23), Negeri Sembilan (23), Kuala Lumpur (19), Sarawak (16), Perak (10), Johor (nine), Kedah (five), Putrajaya (one) and Melaka (one).


“This brings the total cumulative cases involving Covid-19 in the country to 30,889 cases, with 10,392 active cases,” said Noor Hisham during the press conference on Covid-19 development in the country, today.

Noor Hisham noted, three deaths due to Covid-19 were also reported in Sabah involving one Malaysian at the Queen Elizabeth Hospitals, while the other two cases involved foreigners in Tawau and Duchess of Kent Hospital.

“This brings the total number of death cases involving Covid-19 in the country to 249 cases (0.81 percent), and as of today, a total of 90 cases are being treated in the intensive care unit, with 20 of them under respiratory assistants,” he added.

On another note, Noor Hisham also reported that a total of 491 cases of positive Covid-19 has recovered and discharged from the hospital, which brings the total number of recovered and discharged involving Covid-19 to 20,248 cases (65.55 percent).

He said the highest number of recovered cases were recorded in Sabah with 277 cases, and Selangor with 135 cases.

“Negeri Sembilan also recorded a total of 25 recovery cases, together with Perak (22), Pulau Pinang (12) Sarawak (five), Johor (four), Terengganu (three), Pahang (two), Melaka (two) Putrajaya (two), Kuala Lumpur (two) and Kelantan (two).

“At the same time, four states namely Perlis, Kelantan, Terengganu and Pahang, did not report any new cases of Covid-19 as of today,” he said. –DayakDaily.