GE14: PBDSB to stick to Dayak majority areas

Rapelson Richard Hamit

KUCHING, April 21: Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak Baru (PBDSB) will not be contesting in non-Dayak majority areas in this coming 14th general election (GE14).

PBDSB election director Rapelson Richard Hamit said the party has recently announced that they will contest in five seats namely Mas Gading, Puncak Borneo, Sri Aman, Lubok Antu and Selangau.

“Our potential candidates are party president Cobbold John for Sri Aman, deputy president Patrick Anek for Mas Gading, women’s chief Sylvia John for Selangau and Johnny Chuat for Lubok Antu. As for Puncak Borneo, we will announced the candidate on nomination day,” Rapelson said.

PBDSB is also asking State Reform Party (STAR) to contest in other areas, especially the non-Dayak seats as to ensure there will be no clash and a better chance of winning.

Meanwhile, PBDSB president Cobbold denied the allegations that non-Dayak candidates will be contesting under the PBDSB banner in GE14.

“PBDSB is a Dayak-based party. In this coming GE14, we will not allow any non-Dayaks to use our banner. We have received requests from certain parties to use our banner, but we’ve decided to turn them down.

“PBDSB is a platform for the Dayaks’ future. The party does not belonged to a single entity but it belongs to every single one of its members. We have learnt from our past mistakes. They (non-Dayak) can discuss with STAR for an appointment letter as a candidate. After all, STAR is a local and multiracial party,” Cobbold said. — DayakDaily