Gabungan Parti Sarawak grand launching Jan 19

Signature. — file pic. // Photo: Pixabay

By Lian Cheng

KUCHING, Dec 26: Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) will launch its logo on Jan 9 next year, to be followed by a series of activities and culminating with the grand launching of the coalition at Stadium Perpaduan on Jan 19.

A party insider told DayakDaily that this historic launch would include a road rally after the logo launching ceremony.

“The rally will start from different parts of Sarawak, from as far as the northern tip of Lawas to the furthest south of Telok Melano and finally converging in Kuching on Jan 19, where all will attend the grand launching at Stadium Perpaduan,” said the insider.

He added that the rally would be put together by the Youth and Women wings of GPS, while the GPS main body handles the grand launching.

“It will be a historic event because this will be the birth of a truly local pact, where it is formed, run and joined by only local Sarawakians. There are no strings attached and no obligations to anyone outside Sarawak.

“It will be a new start for Sarawak. It will also mark the beginning of a new Sarawak that is now taking its fate into its own hands. The party will also be the voice of Sarawakians,” said the insider, who declined to be identified.

Prior to the May 9 general election this year, Sarawak was under the Sarawak Barisan Nasional (BN). When the BN collapsed in the polls, the ruling coalition in Sarawak decided to go solo instead of joining Pakatan Harapan (PH).
On June 12, Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg announced the formation of GPS to replace the Sarawak BN. GPS received the approval letter from the Registrar of Societies (RoS) sometime last month.

GPS maintained its stand as an opposition to the PH-led federal government after the approval of the party.

Currently, GPS comprises four parties: Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP), Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP).

GPS has 19 MPs in the 222-seat Parliament. PBB has 13 MPs, PRS (3), PDP (2) and SUPP (1). In all, Sarawak is divided into 31 parliamentary constituencies.

In the 82-seat Sarawak Legislative Assembly, GPS has 67 assemblypersons. Out of this, PBB has 46 state lawmakers, PRS (11), SUPP (6) and PDP (4). Meanwhile, GPS-friendly Parti Sarawak Bersatu (formerly known as United People’s Party) has five assemblypersons. — DayakDaily