Five agencies, organisations recognised for achievements at Digital Economy Awards 2022

abariah delivering her speech during the DEA 2022 event held at BCCK in Kuching yesterday (June 21, 2022).

By Ashley Sim

KUCHING, June 21: Five agencies and organisations have been recognised at the Digital Economy Awards 2022 (DEA 2022).

The agencies and organisations are Sarawak Digital Economy Corporation (SDEC), Neuon AI Sdn Bhd, Forest Department Sarawak (FDS), Pustaka Negeri Sarawak, and Sarawak Rural Water Supply Department (JBALB Sarawak).

In addition, SDEC, Pustaka Negeri Sarawak, and JBALB Sarawak received the Premier’s Digital Economy Award, a special award which came with prize money for gold (RM20,000), silver (RM15,000), and bronze (RM10,000) placing.

SDEC won gold in the Premier’s Digital Economy Award and in five award categories with its project titled ‘Bridging The Digital Gap: Sarawak Rural Broadband Network (MySRBN)’.

Neuon AI Sdn Bhd won in five award categories with its project titled ‘RoadPlus—AI Powered Road Asset Management Platform’

FDS won five award categories with its project titled ‘Seed Bombing For Greening Sarawak Campaign’ while Pustaka Negeri Sarawak won bronze in the Premier’s Digital Economy Award and the five award categories with its project titled ‘People Accessible Network for Digital Empowerment & Inclusivity (PANDei)’.

JBALB Sarawak won silver in the Premier’s Digital Economy Award and five award categories with its project titled ‘Digitalisation of Water Supply in JBALB Sarawak’.

According to International Digital Economy Conference Sarawak (Idecs) 2022 chairwoman Datu Dr Sabariah Putit, DEA 2022 aims to identify the best transformation strategy, sustainable model, holistic and inclusive framework, and implementation strategy that contribute to high-impact outcomes for the Sarawak Digital Economy development blueprint for 2018-2022.

She pointed out the goal is to recognise, acknowledge, and appreciate the contributions of numerous players and innovators.

“This year’s DEA 2022 includes five digitalisation transformation categories—Digital Technology Transformation Award, Research & Development and Commercialisation Award, Entrepreneurship and Start-Up Award, Digital Inclusivity Award, and Digital Government Award,” she said during her speech yesterday at the DEA 2022 event held at Borneo Convention Centre Kuching (BCCK) here.

Sabariah revealed that winners from each category in the Premier’s Digital Economy Award are assessed and evaluated based on their strong leadership, creativity and innovation of solutions, holistic and sustainable framework, creation and building of the ecosystem, including skills and employability, and high impact outcomes.

The award is designed with common and category-specific criteria, and only one winner per category, resulting in a total of five winners.

“This year, we received 94 submissions from various organisations, including the public and private sectors, industries, universities, non-governmental organisations (NGOs), and individuals.

“The public sector and GLCs contributed 61 per cent of the total number of participants.

“Meanwhile, 17 per cent of all participants were from universities, 12 per cent from the private sector and industries, 6 per cent from entrepreneurs, and 4 per cent from NGOs and individuals,” Sabariah added.

She also thanked all submission participants for their strong efforts and support in promoting Sarawak digital transformation development over the last five years, in preparing Sarawak for a future as a high-income State with a high standard of social wellbeing, and, most importantly, in ensuring any development with environmental sustainability.

Also present during the event was Premier of Sarawak Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg who officiated at the DEA 2022 ceremony. — DayakDaily