Chong Chieng Jen reelected Sarawak DAP chairman for 2022-2024

Chong (seated fifth left) speaking at the Sarawak DAP Ordinary Convention 2022 held at a local mall today (Jan 16, 2022).

KUCHING, Jan 16: Padungan assemblyman Chong Chieng Jen was re-elected as the chairman of Sarawak Democratic Action Party (DAP) for 2022-2024 at the party’s triennial Sarawak DAP Convention at Aeroville Mall here today.

Meanwhile, the party’s new deputy chairperson is Lanang MP Alice Lau Kiong Yieng who will succeed David Wong Kee Woan. Lau previously held the post of publicity secretary.

Mas Gading MP Mordi Bimol remained as the party’s vice-chairman, a designation he will share with Sibu MP Oscar Ling Chai Yew.

Senator Alan Ling Sie Kiong also retained his post as party secretary and will be assisted by Larry Asap.

The assistant-secretary post was previously held by Bandar Kuching MP Kelvin Yii Lee Wuen who has been elected as the new publicity secretary.

The position of treasurer will be held by Chiew Chiu Sing who succeeded Sarikei MP Andrew Wong Ling Biu.

Pending assemblywoman Violet Yong Wui Wui retained her post as organising secretary and will be assisted by Tonny Ung.

At the same time, Irene Mary Chang Oi Ling was elected as the party’s director of political education, replacing Dr Ting Tiong Choon.

The committee members (exco) include Julian Tan Kok Ping, Sim Kiat Leng, Yong Siew Wei and Richard Lias.

Moving forward, Chong expressed best wishes to the new State Committee lineup to lead Sarawak DAP. — DayakDaily