Buraq Terbang 1 reigns over Batang Kayan Regatta

Wan Junaidi (front row, second right) and other dignitaries in a group photo with the podium finishers during the closing ceremony of Batang Kayan Regatta Festival at Lundu Waterfront today (Sept 25, 2022).

By Nur Ashikin Louis

LUNDU, Sept 25: Buraq Terbang 1 was crowned the King of Batang Kayan (Kayan River) at the Batang Kayan Regatta Festival 2022 at Lundu Waterfront here today.

The team clocked in a record of 8.21 minutes in the Bidar 30 category, defeating the Bujang Sigat team which was just 7 seconds behind, as well as six other finalists.

The team went home with two trophies and a cash prize of RM10,000.

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Parliament and Law) Dato Sri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar presented the prizes to Buraq Terbang’s representative during the closing ceremony.

The regatta marked the end of three-day Batang Kayan Festival 2022 which kicked off on Friday (Sept 23).

The regatta, or commonly called ‘lumbak perauk’ by the locals, is a popular sports event among the people of Sarawak.

As it is usually held before the annual Sarawak Regatta which is scheduled to be held next month, the Batang Kayan festival is seen as a warm-up.

During this year’s Batang Kayan Regatta, there were various stalls owned by the local community selling local food and beverages as well as other products.

There were also other activities such as a spelling bee, blowpipe competition, basketball competition, ‘Berangkat Jungo 2x Spicy Noodles Challenge’ (contest), singing competition, e-sports competition, autoshow, beauty pageant, and entertainment performances.

Wan Junaidi who is also Santubong MP said the event has attracted many tourists to Lundu, and this subsequently stimulates the local economy.

“I am confident that Lundu can become a tourist destination not only known throughout the nation but also around the globe, provided that more infrastructure is built by the government in this area,” he said.

Also present were Tanjong Datu assemblyman Azizul Annuar Adenan Satem, Opar assemblyman Billy Sujang, Lundu District Officer Gustian Durani and Pemanca Benjamin Gersit Jais. — DayakDaily