Bobby William is Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak Baru (PBDSB)’s new president

Bobby (seated fifth right) with the PBDSB Office bearer for year 2019-2022.

SIBU, May 18: Bobby William was picked as the new president of Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak Baru (PBDSB) during its triennial delegates conference (TDC) at Sibu Jaya today.

The conference was attended by members from the Southern, Central and Northern regions, said the party in a statement.

Bobby takes over from Cobbold John Lusoi, who died of heart complications on March 7 this year. He was appointed PBDSB president in 2016.

Former Mas Gading MP Patrick Anek Uren was appointed acting president on April 13.

“We would like to thank Cobbold John’s family and previous president for their sacrifices and support to the party until what it is today,” said Bobby.

“Cobbold was a bold and brave Dayak leader fighting for Dayakism and native rights, especially on native customary rights (NCR) matter.”

Bobby (second right) attending a `miring’ ceremony.

Meanwhile, the main agenda of the TDC are (1) to urge the present state government to survey all NCR land and be granted individual titles under Section 18 of the Land Code instead of Section 6, “which is state land”.

Secondly, the party, which was formed in 2013, wants recognition of Dayak Nation in the Federal Constitution. It urged the government to upgrade Majlis Adat Istiadat Dayak and the Dayak Court to be at par with the Civil and Syariah Courts.

“Majlis Adat Istiadat Bumiputera should be replaced with Majlis Adat Istiadat Dayak and Mahkamah Bumiputera to replaced with Mahkamah Dayak,” the statement added.

Bobby presents a Terabai to Puyang.

PDBDS also hoped the state and federal governments would stop politicising the Dayak community.

“In fact, the government should give the Dayaks equal opportunities in terms of social development and welfare,” it said.

On education, the party urged the federal and state governments to resolve the dilapidated rural schools’ issue as soon as possible.

The new line-up of the office bearers are as follows:

President: Bobby William
Deputy President: Andrew Puro
Vice Presidents: Adman Jubang, Dr Bego Sepop and Mejar Moses Ripai
Youth: Rapelson Richard Hamit
Women: Sylvia John Gemok
Secretary-General: Julius Enchana
Treasurer: Sai Malaka

Supreme Council member:

  1. Sarjan Chely Jenggu
  2. Deny Nico
  3. Brauszelt Elden Anak Usah
  4. Synne Darlyn
  5. Nicholas Dominic
  6. Puyang Laing
  7. Guro Siang
  8. Rahman Mattu
  9. Matthew Jeluing
  10. Anjie Seli
  11. Nicholas Ayu
  12. Emellia Ambrose
  13. Lawrence Ujoh
  14. Budat Jaul
  15. Micheal Bada
  16. Undi Berangan
  17. Bari Ubi
  18. Cecelia Sak
  19. Wen Anchat

The statement stated that Puyang Laing, who is Cobbold John’s widow, was nominated to the Supreme Council to “continue the legacy of Cobbold’s dayakism”. — DayakDaily