Big turnout of PKR members in Miri for party’s polls

Some PKR members arrived at the polling centre at Miri GCM as early as 7am.

By Brad Rantayy

MIRI, Nov 10: A huge number of Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) members from Miri Division turned up at Miri Gymkhana Club (GCM) well before it opened its doors at 9am today for them to cast their ballots in the party’s election.

The members were from Baram (with 2,638 registered voters), Miri (1,770 registered voters) and Sibuti (with 340 registered voters). The whole process went smoothly.

The voting in progress.
The polling centre.

Among those spotted at the centre at around 8.15am was current PKR Wanita chief Zuraida Kamaruddin, who is also Minister of Housing and Local Government. She is eyeing the party’s vice-presidential post.

She was accompanied by current Miri PKR chief Dr Michael Teo, who is unchallenged in this election.

As for the PKR Miri deputy chief post, there are three candidates in the race: Bolhan Salihi, Chritina Kelit and Wesley Ancho Mering. For the branch vice-chief post, the two candidates are Churchill Chukan and Ricky Bakir.

A total 29 PKR Sarawak Divisions are to hold elections today and tomorrow. Sarawak is the last to hold the party’s elections, after Sabah.

PKR incumbent deputy president Datuk Seri Azmin Ali is being challenged by current vice-president Rafizi Ramli. — DayakDaily